Skip to content

Here’s how it happened…

April 17, 2012

Purity ring and engagement ring

To save myself and Abel from having to tell the story over and over (even though it’s wonderful, and we love story-telling), here’s how we got engaged…

On Thursday, Abel and I were sending text messages back and forth (while I was in a meeting, I might add), and he asked me to dinner that night. This was not unusual, because we like eating and we planned to go to Goodfella’s, our regular haunt. We arrive at the restaurant, and everything goes as it normally would — I ordered the same thing I always get (spaghetti primavera with parmesan sauce…YUM), and we’re both wearing casual, if not junky, clothing. As we were leaving, Abel said he would like dessert, but from a new place that’s supposed to be good, but is far. I’m all for that, so off we go…and go…and go.

Soon I realized that the only thing this far east is Titusville, and for those of you who aren’t good at Amy & Abel trivia, that’s where we went on our first date. Now, we’ve been talking about marriage in detail for a few months now, so I knew a proposal was coming at some point. But on a Thursday? And we were wearing such average clothes! I was thrown off by the evening’s casualness, but my suspicions couldn’t be kept at bay. We finally reached the waterfront, by the same bridge where we had that first official date nearly two years ago. Abel pulled a cooler of chocolate cake and milk from the trunk of his car (as he had the first time, because chocolate is the way to my heart). I set it on a picnic table, and when I turned around, he was getting on his knee right behind me, with a white box and a big smile, and asked if I would marry him. Obviously, I said yes! Actually, I believe the exact phrase was “I think I will,” between very girly giggles.

Parked not far from us was an old couple, who started cheering and congratulating us. We had no idea who these people were, but apparently they’ve been married for 59 years, and this was the first time they’d seen a proposal happen. It was cute! After that, we ate delicious, delicious cake while watching the sun set. And then a bunch of dolphins swam by, which was awesome. Good work, Abel!

So overall, it was amazing. I called Mom and Emily on the way home, and we were all excited. It’s still hard to believe, it’s such a big step! But I’m truly happy, and I very much love my fiance :)

Also, a huge THANK YOU to all the friends and family who’ve shown their support on Facebook. You’re too kind!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. browneyedamazon permalink
    April 17, 2012 6:44 pm

    Congratulations, Amy! I am so happy for you both. <3

  2. Crystie permalink
    April 18, 2012 5:40 pm

    Such a sweet story. I am glad to finally get the scoop. He is a blessed guy to have you as his future wife. Love you Amy-kins!

Leave a Reply

