Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 2, Issue 5

February 5, 2012

1.MOTS
Don’t worry, I’m not complaining this time! I’m feeling a little better about this weekly assignment, and last week’s was finally posted (it was late due to technological issues, which I completely understand). This week’s question was, “Did you vote in Florida’s GOP primary? Why or why not?” I was worried that I wouldn’t find anyone who had voted (college campuses tend to be liberal and full of lazy people who don’t care about America), and after getting six interviews with people who hadn’t voted and walking up to a few big groups of students to find that none had voted, I finally got four interviews with people who had, and were excited about it. That was encouraging to see. This stuff is important! College kids, if you care about your Bright Futures, Pell Grants, Work-Study, research funding, etc., politics is something you should pay attention to. Get off your twenty-something butts, take a break from Facebook, and do a little research into the candidates. I want to see scores of “I Voted” stickers around UCF come November!

Here’s the video. Ignore my lame intro!

2.Jobs
I’m applying to them. Of course, I won’t be able to start anything until May, but I have control issues, so…I’m getting a head start. So far, I’ve applied for like seven different positions. We’ll see what happens. I still don’t really know what exactly I want to do, so that’s probably why I’m freaking out a little bit! Oh, college. Why can’t you be the real world?

3.CFF
This week’s assignments:
GOP primaries. I didn’t do such a great job getting photos, but this is pretty cute.

The Wellness Center is working to improve UCF’s sexual health. My editor asked me to “Get some shots of their facilities, usually they might have free condoms, get some artsy shots of those.” So there you go.

And lastly, the funnest assignment I’ve had in a while, a presentation called “Aphrodisiacs: Myth or Reality,” given by Francine Segan at the Orange County Regional History Center. Segan is a food historian and writer who’s published several books and appeared on Food Network multiple times, so the whole thing was really interesting, and the subject had an inherent awkwardness, which she turned into humor. I found the night very enjoyable. Plus, there was lots of food! The best part of journalism! And most of the foods were, of course, aphrodisiacs, but I was hungry, so I gobbled away anyhow.

I'm getting sexified just looking at it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

