Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 2, Issue 2

January 15, 2012

1.Spring semester breakdown
I can’t yet judge how difficult, easy, fun, or challenging this semester will be. One week isn’t quite enough time for me to tell. But it’s the last one, so I need to make it count! Here are my first impressions of all my classes:

Desktop/Internet Publishing: I’m not going to lie, my very first class of the semester was a disappointment. I was looking forward to this, since it is my final journalism class, but I found out that it contains students from a wide variety of majors and specialties, so what we are learning won’t always apply to me or be beneficial to my future career. I’ll learn how to use Microsoft Publisher, but it looks so similar to all the other Office software. Our professor has had a lot of jobs, but none of them have been desktop/Internet publishing. On Wednesday, we learned how to open a new document. And then we learn that text goes in text boxes. I feel this might be an infuriating class!

Cinematic Expression: Apparently, there was a sort of intro to cinematic expression that everyone in my class has taken…except me. This made me a little nervous, but I’m sure I’ll be able to handle it. The professor posted some notes from that class online for us, so I’ll be able to catch up and learn the vocabulary I’ll need. The part that makes me even more nervous is that we’ll all be put in groups, and throughout the semester, each group has to make three films: a 20 second film, a 30 second film, and a minute-long film. Those time constraints should make things interesting. I’ve been trying to come up with ways to tell a story in such a small amount of time. Luckily, I’ll be working with a friend from last semester’s Documentary class, and I know he’s awesome at shooting and not a lazy pants! Group projects are always better when you know you’ve got a good team.

Advanced Poetry Workshop: I considered taking Advanced Fiction instead of Poetry as my final creative writing workshop, but I’m glad I picked this. Poetry isn’t my greatest skill, but it is something that I would like to get better at, and it’s a great outlet for stories and ideas. It offers a different kind of freedom than fiction and nonfiction. The class is very small, and I like the professor, who taught my first poetry class. He’s a nice old man. My first poem is due on Tuesday, so I might share it if I like it enough!

Art of the Cinema: What I enjoy most about studying film is that it teaches me to use my brain while watching movies. That’s what this class is all about. On the first day, we watched a scene from Juno (great movie), and then went frame by frame through it, talking about the techniques used to create tension and reveal emotion. I noticed things in the scene that I hadn’t noticed before, and it made me appreciate the film and its creators all the more. Our professor said he would have us watch movies we aren’t likely to have seen in other film classes. Unfortunately, he didn’t give us a list of all the movies we’ll be watching (I want to know right now!), but I’m definitely looking forward to breaking down some cool films.

2.Losing Teeth
Abel drove me down to West Palm on Thursday night and I got my wisdom teeth ripped out of my face the next morning! It’s so strange to simply not remember any of it. The last thing I know, I was watching the Today Show’s 60 year anniversary and the surgeon was poking a needle into me. Then I don’t remember anything until I got home, and even that is groggy. Apparently, I was pretty loopy and Mom and Abel made fun of me! All in all, it hasn’t been a terrible experience. The anticipation was worse than the actual event. I got a little swollen and sore, but nothing I can’t live through. Abel was helpful to me — I felt very doted upon! I will admit that these days made me realize how much I like food that crunches!

Pudding and a smashed banana for lunch...mmm...

3.CFF
This week, I shot for two articles. One was at an alumnus’ business, where he and his crew fix broken smartphones and such. The other was with a theater student who has been nominated for awards through the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival. It was a fun portrait session, and I have to say that theater students are much easier to shoot than non-theatrical students! Here’s the article. We had a good time, but unfortunately, none of the portraits made it to print. I’m bummed about it, but I’ll post them here so at least someone will be able to enjoy them.

Bryant Hernandez

Bryant Hernandez

Bryant Hernandez

4.Listening is an Act of Love
Finished it this week. The stories were great reads, and I felt an array of emotions while reading each one. I think the StoryCorps project is simply wonderful. Enough said. My next book is David Foster Wallace’s A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again, which is a collection of his essays. I haven’t gotten into it yet, but I’m looking forward to it. His only work that I’ve read is the essay “Consider the Lobster,” so I don’t quite know what to expect, but he’s a big enough name in nonfiction to pique my curiosity.

Until next week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

