Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 2, Issue 1

January 9, 2012

1.Breaking Bad
After finishing The Sopranos the week before Christmas, Abel and I began watching Breaking Bad together. First of all, The Sopranos is amazing. Second, Breaking Bad is amazing. I’m almost done with season 2, and it’s driving me pretty crazy. All I’ve heard is that it only gets better and better each season, so I’m excited for what’s in store. I’m also scared. I’m bad at handling drama!

By Amy Nucera

By Amy Nucera

2.Reading Lolita in Tehran
Finished the book this week. It was pretty enjoyable, and I’ve always found it good to read first-hand accounts from people who are native to cultures I hear a lot about. Iran is a bit of a hot topic these days, although I’d say that most of us know little of the country’s history. The book was a mixture of memoir and literary criticism, relating the real world of Iran’s political unrest and the characters’ personal struggles to the fictional worlds and characters in Lolita, The Great Gatsby, Pride and Prejudice, etc. I think one of the most interesting aspects of the book is how the narrator’s literature classes showed the foolishness of political extremism. A lot of her students were against the books she taught because they were “Western” and “decadent,” and they promoted a lack of morality that the Islamic Revolution in Iran denounced. But when you really read these books, you can see that just because the protagonist acts in a certain way doesn’t mean the author is promoting it. In fact, in many stories, the hero’s flaws cause his/her downfall, unless he/she overcomes them.

Basically, the book stressed the importance of fiction in our nonfictional world. Nafisi reflected that sometimes these fictional worlds seemed more real than her own. As I was reading this book back home in West Palm, I overheard someone say that they didn’t like to read fiction, because “you aren’t learning anything” when doing so. They said that in order to read fiction, they had to learn to be OK with not learning. Of course, I wanted to throw my book at them, but I’m not all that aggressive! Certainly, many frivolous books exist, and there is nothing to be learned from them. But I can’t imagine someone reading classic literature and NOT learning. I understand that everyone has different taste and such, but if you’re not learning from fiction, you’re not reading it right. /rant

Now I’m reading Listening is an Act of Love, which is a compilation of interviews done by the StoryCorps project. This project began in 2003, and it provides people with a place to talk to or interview people they love (or people they find interesting), records the conversation and gives one copy to the participants and one to the Library of Congress. The purpose is to get the stories of everyday Americans from the 20th and 21st centuries. It’s a neat project, and a neat book, but I’m going through it very quickly! Definitely check out the StoryCorps website, or listen to some of the stories on NPR’s Morning Edition.

3.Central Florida Future
This week I started as the CFF’s senior staff photographer, so I got to go to new places and see interesting things. Here are some of my first photos of the semester. This is what I get paid the big bucks for!

Chewy Boba Company (boba still makes me want to vomit).

Toubab Krewe at Plaza Live.

Galactic Funk at Plaza Live.

SkyWatch at Orlando Science Center. I saw the moon, Orion nebula, AND Jupiter!

The OSC Observatory.

***

Ready or not, my final semester is here! It’s true what they say: these things fly by too quickly. I’m hoping to make the most of my last little bit of time here at UCF, and of course my dear readers will get to hear all about it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

