Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 22

December 19, 2011

1.Books upon books
Christmas break means reading time! I finished Anne Lamott’s Traveling Mercies this week. I’m glad that my professor recommended to me (and that Uncle Joe gifted it to me years ago), because it was a good read. Although I disagree with many of Lamott’s political and spiritual views, I enjoy her stories. I can get over her being a feminist and calling God “mother” and “she” (Jesus calls Him the Father, but you know…whatever), because her writing is so lovely. It floats in an easy, airy sort of way, if you know what I mean. Next in the pile is Reading Lolita in Tehran. I got this memoir from Barnes & Noble a while ago. It’s written by Azar Nafisi, and Iranian woman who quit her job as a Western literature professor in her homeland for political reasons, and then made her living room into a classroom for a chosen group of young women. The bigger story is their search for truth and connection to their society in books of fiction, most of which were banned by the government after the Islamic Revolution. I’ve found the affairs of Iran interesting ever since I watched/read Perselpolis, so I’m glad to read this one. I’m only in the first section, but I think I’ll like it, even though it tends to be a bit repetitive (Yes, I know you’re reading Lolita in Tehran and that’s crazy. You don’t have to keep telling me). I’ll keep you updated. I also stopped by the library (the greatest place on the planet) this week, so I’ve also got some other books to read. I’ve been workign on volume 1 of Flight, which is beautiful. it’s a collection of short graphic stories centering on the theme of flight. Here’s a taste:

Cover image

A page from "Hugo Earheart," by Jake Parker

2.Cookies
I made up a recipe loosely based on another one, but I had to wing it a little for lack of certain ingredients. Here it is:

Amy’s vague recipe for vegan-ish coffee, almond, fudge cookies
Ingredients:
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup or so cocoa powder. I just dumped in what I had left .
1/4 cup instant coffee
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup almond milk, soy milk, water, whatever. I used half a can of Seattle’s Best vanilla latte, so the cookies weren’t vegan.
1/4 cup or more hot fudge
Some almonds and chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt, and cocoa powder. I used self-rising flour instead of using baking powder and salt. I do not recommend this. When mixed, make a little volcano in the middle, where you’ll pour the wet stuff.
3. In a small bowl, mix the sugar, oil, vanilla, milk, and instant coffee.
4. Pour the wet stuff into the volcano. Mix a little. Don’t overwork.
5. Add some chocolate and whatnot. Mix a little more.
6. Get a cookie sheet. Don’t grease it (really). Put 1 tbsp balls of dough about 1/2 inch apart. Squish them flat, because they won’t spread.
7. Stick the pan in the oven for about 5 minutes. After that, turn the pan 180 degrees. Let bake for about 4 minutes more.
8. Transfer to a wire cooling rack or wooden cutting board.
9. EAT.

3.The Office
For the past couple months, I’ve been rewatching The Office, just because it’s been a long time since I saw the first few seasons. I realized that 1)The first season isn’t as good as I remember, and 2)It starts going downhill around season 5. I love the show (or seasons 2-5 I guess), but I have to admit that the most recent season is incredibly disappointing. I don’t think I laughed at all during the newest episode I watched (“Mrs. California”). So, I hate to say it, but I’m probably done with the show now. I just watched the episode in season 6 when Jim and Pam finally get married, and I think that’s the best place to leave it. Of course, I’m curious about their second baby and all, but most likely not curious enough to watch any more new episodes. And after that unfortunate note, I’ll end this week with something nicer: the wedding scene in terrible quality!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

