Skip to content

Orlando Pride Parade

November 17, 2011

Documentary update!

I was too busy to do a Roundup last week, so here’s a little update on my film class’s documentary. First and foremost, it has a name! A name that isn’t one of the cheesy puns that the script writing team has come up with (i.e. Straight Expectations). Drum roll…

Florida’s Purge: The Johns Committee Witch-Hunt

We went on a more serious route. As of Tuesday, all of our shooting is finished. A small group of us attended the Orlando Pride Parade on Saturday, and on Tuesday, two or three drove to High Springs to shoot a VERY special meeting between a Johns Committee victim and one of the police officers who had harassed him. Tomorrow, we the script writing team will, in theory, complete the script so that after the Thanksgiving holiday, the class will be able to dive into the editing process. This has been such an awesome experience, and I’m excited for what still lies ahead for us. I’ll keep you posted. I want to thank my stellar Uncle Joe for being super supportive (as always!) and making connections for me. You’re awesome :)

Here are some ways to keep in touch with our progress:
Kickstarter
Facebook
Tumblr
Here are some of my photos from the parade:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also couldn’t help but think of this…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joseph Holbrooks permalink
    November 18, 2011 1:47 pm

    Gasp!!! I think that’s my first mention in a blog! I’m so excited!

    So proud of you! Thanks for drawing our attention to this interesting, yet disappointing place in Florida and Gay history. It makes be glad to be alive and free in 2011.

    PEACE
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

