Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 15

October 23, 2011

1.Abel’s Birthday
On Friday, my hunk-of-man turned 23! We celebrated with a lovely day together. The highlight was probably visiting a puppy store and playing with some cute little bundles of love for nearly an hour. Although puppy stores make me sad, I had a great time. No, we didn’t take one home (which was very difficult!). We decided we’re getting a puppy whenever we have landlords who allow it. After that, we went to Abel’s house to watch some episodes of Modern Family (see below), and then back to my place, where I made dinner (cheese tortellini…Yum!). I made a DIY post about the craft that I made for him, but I also got him Batman: Arkham City, which I’m very much looking forward to watching him play. It looks pretty awesome. Lastly, I had pre-made my first ever tiramisu for dessert, and I wanted to share the Epicurious recipe I used, with my recipe comments in italics. It makes the kitchen a mess, but is totally worth it:

Tiramisu

Ingredients:
2 cups boiling-hot water
3 tablespoons instant-espresso powder (I used fresh brewed espresso instead of water and powder)
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar, divided
3 tablespoons Tia Maria (coffee liqueur) (I used Kahlua…I was completely lost in the alcohol aisle at Publix!)
4 large egg yolks
1/3 cup dry Marsala
1 pound mascarpone (2 1/2 cups) (I used ricotta, and accidentally didn’t buy enough, so it was only about 2 cups. Oops!)
1 cup chilled heavy cream
36 savoiardi (crisp Italian ladyfingers; from two 7-ounce packages)
Unsweetened cocoa powder for dusting

Prep:
Stir together water, espresso powder, 1 tablespoon sugar, and Tia Maria in a shallow bowl until sugar has dissolved, then cool.
Beat egg yolks, Marsala, and remaining 1/2 cup sugar in a metal bowl set over a saucepan of barely simmering water using a whisk or handheld electric mixer until tripled in volume, 5 to 8 minutes. Remove bowl from heat. Beat in mascarpone until just combined. (An Epicurious commenter suggested putting the egg mixture in an ice bath after mixing it, which I did. I’m not sure what difference it makes, though.)
Beat cream in a large bowl until it holds stiff peaks.
Fold mascarpone mixture into whipped cream gently but thoroughly.
Dipping both sides of each ladyfinger into coffee mixture, line bottom of a 13- by 9- by 3-inch baking pan with 18 ladyfingers in 3 rows, trimming edges to fit if necessary. Spread half of mascarpone filling on top. Dip remaining 18 ladyfingers in coffee and arrange over filling in pan. (I used an 11-by-8 pan and had three layers intead of two. I also dusted cocoa powder between each layer)
Spread remaining mascarpone filling on top and dust with cocoa. Chill, covered, at least 6 hours.
Let tiramisu stand at room temperature 30 minutes before serving, then dust with more cocoa.

Enjoy!

2.Capoeira project
Here’s the “first draft,” so to speak, of my converged group’s Soundslides project. I talked about it in V1,I12. We’ll show it in class Monday, and have the week to revise it, and turn it in again next Wednesday. The group already has plans to improve it, but I hope you and the class will like what we have so far.

Something we as a group struggled with was who we were creating this project for. Our professor emphasized that the project needed a human story. With the material we had gathered, we knew we could either make an awesome project, or make a project that would please the professor. I feel like we successfully did a bit of both, but we certainly leaned more toward getting an A. But that’s just a part of life. There’s almost always a publisher, producer or audience of some sort that will require a sacrifice of your own will and creativity. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t push them.

3.Portfolio
My graduation portfolio is due November 2. I’m only freaking out a little. Just kidding, I’m freaking out a lot. Many struggle to pass their first portfolio review, and I definitely don’t want to fail and worry about it again next semester. I’m praying, but we’ll see what happens. The photos I had printed just arrived in the mail yesterday, and I already have my news stories sorted out. It’s all finger-crossing from here!

4.Modern Family
Abel and I just finished season 1 this week. I was interested in watching it only after the Emmys happened. It’s a funny show, and we both enjoy it, but neither of us would say it’s our favorite. I feel like, at least in the first season, the characters could stand to be developed more. Between the three families, I don’t know who to focus on the most. But I’d say I like Mitch and Cam the best, and Phil has definitely grown on me. Most of my laughs come from their interactions. Have you watched it? What do you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 10:49 pm

    To all readers, follow that recipe and you won’t be disappointed.

Trackbacks

  1. DIY: Kirby’s Epic Submarine « AmyCanWrite: Amy Simpson's Blog about Photography, Design, and Life

Leave a Reply

