Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 12

October 2, 2011

 

Good news: this week was definitely better than last week. PTL!

1. XC
I finally got to see my brother run a cross-country meet this season. Abel and I drove to Titusville to meet up with the team, Mom, Sister Emily, and her Favorite Guy. Scott ran very well (second place with 17:05) and a good time was had by all. It made me realize how much I miss my family. Thanksgiving can’t come soon enough!

 

 

2. Tijunana Flats cookie dough flautas
These are officially on my list of best things I’ve ever eaten. If you live in the Central Florida area and 1 – haven’t been to Tijuana Flats, or 2 – haven’t tried this heavenly dessert, you must do so immediately. Really, drop what you’re doing right now! It’s food time! These cookie dough-filled tortillas are lightly fried and served with dipping chocolate. So simple, but so wonderful.

3. Converged Project
Things are already looking up for my first group project in converged journalism. I already know the people I’m working with, and we all have the ability to do a great job. The actual project is to create a Soundslide (it’s like a slide show but with sound.) I made this one last year. We’ll be doing our project on Capoeira, Brazilian martial arts/dancing. A partner, Justin, and I went to a Capoeira “Baptism” today to watch the participants perform, or “play.” It was neat! I hope our project will do justice to the energy and feeling of community that was present in the room today.

 

 

4. Dark Souls
Abel is excited for this game like a little girl is excited for a Justin Bieber concert. Luckily, the game seems much cooler than Bieber, and also much more able to kick my butt. See (warning: there’s blood and death and stuff)…

 

 

If I put that game in a console, a screen would pop up saying, “Silly Amy, just give up now!” But I am interested to see Abel play a bit, if he’ll let me.

5. Podcast?
The Florida Review has asked me to create a podcast for the journal. We’ll see how it goes. I’m planning on going to a reading on Sunday to get some recording, and perhaps some interviews. This could be a good thing, but also a new thing that I’ve never done, and I could easily ruin.
Like I said…we’ll see!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anita Simpson permalink
    October 2, 2011 11:59 pm

    Great update, Amy! I’m so glad you & Abel were able to come over to Titusville for the meet. I’m looking forward to spending more time with you @ Thanksgiving. I love the photo in this post of the guy in the handstand (the little kids faces are adorable!). Let us know how you do on the project and also on your podcast:) Love, Mom

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 15 « AmyCanWrite: Amy Simpson's Blog about Photography, Design, and Life

Leave a Reply

