Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 11

September 25, 2011

1.Kirby’s Epic Yarn
Abel and I have been working on this game together little by little over the past month, and we beat it this weekend. The game is incredibly fun and unbearably adorable…and by unbearable, I mean I loved it. I have to say, aesthetically speaking, this is a perfect game. The attention to detail in each level transports the player to an interactive, knitted world. Each section of Patch Land is well designed as new, pleasing to the eye, and fun. Is it difficult? No. But it is mildly challenging to collect all the items and collect enough “beads” to get a gold medal on each level. The low-level of difficulty is trumped by the fun you can have exploring the worlds and watching Kirby and his new friend Prince Fluff interact with the landscape and turn into the cutest submarines you’ll ever see. There are throwbacks to the older Kirby games, and areas that are reminiscent of games like Galaga or Ikaruga, and Ecco the Dolphin.

Both my super-gamer boyfriend and my not-so-much-gamer self put Kirby’s Epic Yarn on our list of favorites. Playing co-op can at times be detrimental to our relationship, but I believe this one had positive effects! Check out the trailer and screenshots below, and if you have a Wii, go check out this game. 10/10 on my chart, 88.75/100 on GameRankings.

You can't handle the cute.

2.Pre-nonfiction video fun
This week, my advanced nonfiction class decided to randomly watch a much less risqué video than we watched last week. I don’t know this guy, but I know this song, and it’s beautiful and I haven’t heard it in a while, so I’m glad we watched it!

I wanted to also post an essay that we read, but you know, copyright. Can’t find it. As a side note, David Sedaris is coming to the Bob Carr amphitheater in October, if anyone’s interested. I don’t have enough money (last time I checked, the only tickets left are $70), but if you can afford it, go! He’s a very funny writer.

3.Bad week?
Thinking back on it, this week might have been not good. Playing Kirby was by far the best thing I did, and I can’t think of much else. I got freakishly sick on Tuesday after getting stressed out during documentary class. The Florida skies pooped all over UCF on Thursday, getting me and the contents of my purse soaked with rainwater just in time for my afternoon shift at the Honors College. There a bunch of people staying at my house who may or may not be living here, so it’s kind of awkward. I don’t know, guys, but I’m hoping this coming week will be better. I’ve got a lot to look forward to: seeing Sister Emily for the first time in a long time, watching my brother’s cross country team run in Titusville, starting a Soundslides project for converged journalism class. I guess we’ll see!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 6:51 am

    Daw, Kirby’s so adorable. I still think his submarine form is cuter ( http://images.wikia.com/kirby/en/images/0/0b/KEY_SubmarineForm.jpg ), but he’s cute regardless of almost any form.

    Your next week will be better!

Leave a Reply

