Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 10

September 18, 2011

1. Project Runway
This week’s episode was great; I thought the challenge was interesting and the top looks were amazing. Each designer worked with a man to make an outfit for his wife/girlfriend, and some of these guys had funny ways of describing their significant others’ look and sense of style. There was much talk of boobs, and poor Olivier (the meek little designer with perhaps the best accent) didn’t know what “double D” meant.
Just for fun, I decided to ask Abel how he would describe my style choices to a designer. He said: “Conservative, yet chic…You also alternate between dark and sunny colors frequently.” Vague, but not too shabby, Mr. Diaz!

The winning look -- nice and simple.

The second place look -- my favorite!

2. Milano
Milano cookies were BOGO at Publix this week. I got four packages. Don’t worry, I won’t eat them all at once.

3. Silliest Mortal Kombat characters
Abel got the Mortal Kombat: Kollector’s Edition this week, so we sat down together to check it out. The blood, boobies and bone breakage aren’t exactly my cup of tea (the original MK was one of the games that spurred the creation of the ESRB), but I have to admit, we had a good time being grossed out by the different character’s fatalities (Noob’s is the most stomach-turning, in my opinion), and making fun of other characters’ lameness. For example…

“He got caged!” – Johnny Cage

Cage is a movie-star-douche gone Earth-saving-douche. His fatality? He punches the opponent’s head off. And then rips off their torso. What? Also, he’s on Twitter.

“Police brutality, coming up!” – Stryker

Stryker’s back story is that he was a cop, and now he’s in Mortal Kombat. That’s about it. Really.

4. A weird way to begin a writing class
On Thursday, I walked into advanced nonfiction to see this on the screen:

Apparently, my professor’s 15-year-old son had posted it on Facebook, and my prof didn’t quite know what to make of it. Funny? Yes. Inappropriate? Perhaps. And then we had a free-writing session. I wonder what most of the class wrote about?

5. Reading
I had to put a hold on What is the What for quite some time, but I’ll probably be able to return to it soon and finish it off. I’m reading And They Were Wonderful Teachers for documentary class. It’s all about the teachers who were victims of the Johns Committee. I’m not going to lie, it’s got a very slow beginning, but I’ll keep reading anyway.

Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 5:19 pm

    @#1. I think the dress that won looks very pretty. The 2nd place one is nice, but the first one wins for all its subtlety.

    • Amy permalink
      September 19, 2011 12:31 pm

      The winning dress was actually made by a guy who loves to “bedazzle” everything, so this was a big step forward for him haha.

Leave a Reply

