Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 8

September 5, 2011

I realized today that I made a gross oversight last week. I completely forgot to mention my Monday escapade with the wonderful Ashlyn, which was one of the greatest parts of the week! I took the UCF shuttle over to the Rosen campus to meet her on the theme park side of town (hooray free transportation). We briefly swam in the pool at the Polynesian, then walked over to the Grand Floridian to sit and enjoy the live jazz in the lobby. Overall, it was a lovely time. Go Ashlyn!

1. First day at Golfweek
I finally started my internship with Golfweek. So far, I’ve just been putting old articles into the publication’s archive. I really hope I get to do more. The people who work there seem nice though.

2. HTML
I learned HTML in converged journalism! I learned ALL OF IT. Not really, but not I can make a website that looks like it was built by trained monkeys in the early 90s. I was going to insert a screenshot of my webpage but now I can’t get it to work. I guess I’m not a pro yet!

3. Stranded
Abel and I watched this documentary together. It’s about a group of Uruguayan college students and rugby players who are traveling to Chile, and their plane crashes in the Andes. Their 72 days there are chronicled in the stories told by the survivors, footage from when they were found, and some good dramatizations. It’s horrible and amazing at the same time, and I highly recommend it. 9/10.

I need inspiration for my documentary workshop, because I’m on the team that will be writing the script and working on the structure, so I need to know how good documentaries work. Stranded was recommended to me by Abel, but I also got great feedback on Facebook, so I want to thank all my friends who gave suggestions. I’m looking forward to watching some great stories this semester: This Film is Not Yet Rated, Exit Through the Gift Shop, Sicko, It Might Get Loud, The Human Experience, Hot Coffee…I’ve got a lot to watch!

4. “Ed Wood”
This is supposed to be Tim Burton’s greatest film and Johnny Depp’s greatest performance. I liked it quite a bit. It’s the story of the life of Ed Wood, who is acclaimed as the world’s worst director. The film he is most remembered for, Plan 9 From Outer Space, is what some call the worst film of all time, and is what I call hilarious. Burton and Depp did a good job here, so I also recommend this movie. 8/10. And while you’re at it, watch Plan 9. It’ll make life better.

Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 2:04 pm

    Hi Ames.
    One of my favorite documentaries is “Unknown White Male.” http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0436864/
    Crystie and I saw it at the Atlanta Film Festival a few years back. I thought it was both interesting and well done.
    Remind me of your topic. I might brainstorm some ideas with you.
    PEACE
    (Uncle) Joe

    • Amy permalink
      September 5, 2011 4:15 pm

      I’ll check it out!
      Our topic is the Johns Committee, which harassed and threatened LGBT students and professors in Florida universities in the late 50s/early 60s. They tried to justify it by making connections between that community and communism. They were originally going to go after African Americans, but they had the NAACP to legally defend themselves, whereas the LGBT community didn’t have an organization like that, since it was so taboo.
      I’d never heard of it before the first day of class, and I’m curious about your knowledge of it.

  2. September 5, 2011 11:40 pm

    As usual, I enjoyed your Roundup. I’m glad that you enjoyed Stranded, and I look forward to watching your class’ documentary, unless it turns out like that other class project where you’re terribly ashamed of it and you don’t want me to watch it. But that won’t be the case this time!

    • Amy permalink
      September 6, 2011 12:32 pm

      It’ll definitely be better than that one! This is an Honors class, after all.

Leave a Reply

