Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 7

August 29, 2011

It’s a special double week bonus issue! Ok, it wasn’t planned that way, but it’s also not because I’m lazy. Last Sunday was a special Amy and Abel day to celebrate the last day of summer, so there wasn’t much time to finish up the Roundup. But this one’s nice and long, so enjoy it!

1. Senior year
Oh my gosh, I’m too scared to graduate soon! I have the opposite of senioritis. I’ll keep my financial aid, cool classes and free gym membership, thank you. The first week of this semester boded well for the rest. I’m taking three classes, two internships and working a bit at the Honors College again. Here’s the breakdown, if you’re interested:

Converged journalism: it’s my big senior year journalism class that is the culmination of my learning. All in all, it should be great. It involves learning about how technology and journalism go together, with a couple group projects where we make videos or soundslides, which I like very much. It’s good to have classes where you actually produce things.

Advanced nonfiction writing: I loved my intro to nonfiction class, so this should be a good one. My professor is neat; she’s the kind of person I think I’ll be like when I’m older, if that makes sense and isn’t weird. Our first assignment was to write a eulogy for someone we love…who is still alive. Morbid, yes, but it also makes you think about that relationship in a deeper way. I’m not recommending it, but if you really want to it’s not so bad!

Advanced documentary workshop: This is my honors class for the semester. It’s going to be a ton of work, but extremely rewarding. The 15 or so of us will work together to make a 10-20 minute documentary about the Johns Committee. The committee was an entity in Florida back in the 50s that decided to link homosexuals with communism, and use that to get them kicked out of Florida universities (including UF and USF). The University of Florida made a documentary called Behind Closed Doors on the subject ten years ago, but ours will have a wider focus and it’ll end on a note of hope, unlike that one. You’ll definitely be hearing more about this.

Florida Review and Golfweek: These are my two internships. Golfweek is a publication about golf (exciting, I know) housed in the same building as the Observer. I’ll be working with my page design professor. I really don’t know what it entails. The Florida Review is an international literary magazine housed at UCF. I’ll be reading lots of manuscripts to decide what will make it into the magazine. I’ve already started, and I think I’ll like it a lot. I always enjoyed reading other people’s work in my writing workshops, and now I have full license to be judgmental, and I don’t know these people, so I don’t have to worry about my opinion hurting their feelings. It’ll be great!

2. Amadeus
My boyfriend loves this movie. My mom hates it. What did I think? Sorry momma, I have to agree with Abel on this one. This 1984 film had an intensity and beauty that I appreciated. It didn’t feel like it had aged 27 years. There were a couple things I didn’t like so much, but I thought the story itself was profound, and the setting was very well done. Overall, I’d give it maybe an 8.5/10. There wasn’t one particular scene I could find on Youtube that represented it well enough, so you’ll just have to go watch the whole thing.

3. Migraines
Still going! As a consequence of this, I learned that Excedrin Migraine and Excedrin Extra Strength are the same thing. The active ingredients are exactly the same. What the heck? The whole world of health care confuses my aching brain. The good news is, they’ve been less severe and have given me a couple days off. We’ll see if they decide to go away.

4. Records and food trucks
Park Avenue CDs had a food truck/swap meet night on Saturday. Abel and I went with our friends Brandon and Billy. As my first food truck experience, I’d say it was pretty neat. I got a s’mores cupcake from the Yum Yum truck, which had very cute 50s housewife decor. I might go out there again sometime.

iPod photo...I forgot my camera :(

5. Encouragement of the artistic kind
At the end of last spring, the Honors College decided that it would get new art for its classrooms, which was good, because the old stuff was creepy and distracting. They held a contest, and long story short, one of my photos ended up in classroom 127. Go check it out. So today at church, my friend Faith told me that in her Latin American culture class, her profesora was talking about art or something and pointed out my photo and talked about how great it was. As you can imagine, that was an incredibly encouraging thing to hear. It’s strange though, because recently I realized that all my favorite photos I’ve taken came from my first year or two as a photographer. That was high school, and that’s when I took my photo that’s now in room 127. It gives me something to think about.

My famous photo

Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 1:46 am

    See, I’ve seen you have this photo up before, and had no idea it was yours. Probably because the setting is so isolated and the angle would be hard for a college student to get. If I saw this photo, I wouldn’t think it was shot from a tall building, I would think it was shot using weird altitude machines, like a crane, or a helicopter. It is very good, and you should be proud of it.

    • Amy permalink
      August 29, 2011 2:28 pm

      Thank you :)
      I have to admit, it was a moment of pure luck. I didn’t plan to be standing on that particular castle on a hill at the exact time that person was walking into the meeting point of those paths. It was a little blessing!

  2. August 29, 2011 5:44 am

    I like this photo, high view points are great – thanks

  3. Anita Simpson permalink
    August 29, 2011 11:41 am

    Wow, Amy, great update. I’ve always loved that photo. I’m glad it’s getting recognition. Love, Mom:)

Leave a Reply

