Skip to content

Mawiage is what brings us together today

August 17, 2011

As I mentioned in last week’s Roundup, I went to a wedding and it was wonderful. Please understand that I am a completely crazy woman who loves weddings and cries when in attendance, no matter how much or little I know the couple. On this particular occasion, I knew the couple quite well, so it took a lot of self-control to hold myself together. Remember, this wasn’t my wedding. I wasn’t even a bridesmaid or anything. In fact, at the wedding I attended prior to this one, I didn’t know the couple at all…and was still almost in tears. All this to say, if I ever get married, I’m wearing a dress made of Kleenex, because Lord knows I’ll need plenty.

The whole occasion got me thinking about marriage and relationships. My previously mentioned craziness causes me to use StumbleUpon as a means of finding pictures of pretty weddings with gorgeous decor, cute themes, great photos, perfection abounding, etc. The wedding I went to last week was small and simple. There wasn’t a bunch of handmade, DIY-chic decor. Yet, the love in that little venue was tangible. I felt blessed to be there, blessed to be counted among the couple’s small group of family and friends. That’s what I want my wedding to feel like. Why should we be so concerned with frills when marriage is much more than that?

This scene didn't really make sense, but who cares? YAY MARRIAGE!

Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 1:58 pm

    Great thoughts! My favorite line: “All this to say, if I ever get married, I’m wearing a dress made of Kleenex, because Lord knows I’ll need plenty.” haha ;)

Leave a Reply

