Skip to content

Weekly Roundup: Volume 1, Issue 3

July 24, 2011

1. Red light cameras (COMPLETE!)
Central Florida, you now have a huge, published article all about the safety and fiscal results of your red light cameras. You’re welcome! This article has been the biggest of my as-of-yet short journalism career, so it feels great to have it done! I spoke to representatives from five cities in Central Florida over three weeks, and it was a worthwhile learning experience. Editor Jenny loved it, and I needed that encouragement. But I’m not going to lie, the headline that is printed over it doesn’t reflect what I wanted the story to be about. As I said in V1I1, I support the use of red light cameras. Unfortunately, my article did not convince some commenters! I’m actually updating it in the next week or so to include Orange County’s camera program so the article can be printed in one of our other publications, the East Orlando Sun.

2. Things that go bump in the night
This is just a silly story of my life. I had awakened from a dream at around 6 a.m. and was lying in bed when I heard a big WHAM that sounded like it had come from somewhere in the house. As I investigated, my thought process wandered: “Someone is breaking in to our house! Why isn’t any one else awake? Maybe something just fell? I don’t hear anything else. OHMYGOSH what if the oven exploded and carbon monoxide is leaking into the house and we’ll never know because no one replaces the smoke alarm batteries, and we’re going to DIE. But I’ll know, because I replace MY smoke alarm batteries. I can’t sleep now. What if there wasn’t a noise, and I’m just going crazy? What if it’s just like ‘Black Swan’ and I’m going crazy and I’M A LESBIAN?! NO!!! Or, maybe Roomie Erika brought home a friend from work last night and bludgeoned him? That makes more sense. Time to go back to bed.” I never learned the source of the noise, but I like my conclusion.

3. SYTYCD Top 10
This show is one of my guilty pleasures. Last year, Abel took me to see the tour when it came to Orlando, and this year, Orlando is their first stop. But I won’t make him do that for me again! He was a real trooper! Anyway, here are my two favorite performances from Wednesday night:

4. Coffee time
This video was featured on Abudzeedo, and I wanted to point it out as well. As a lover of both coffee and awesome-looking videos, I have to say I’m wonderfully impressed by this, as well as D4D’s other videos. The D4D is a California-based “branded content studio” that makes amazing videos. This makes me want to go to Venice, CA right now. Road trip, anyone?

I remember the first time I ordered espresso, and was very confused as to why my cup was so small. Oh, how I’ve grown!

5. Orlando Calling
Coming in November. Abel and I are already planning on going with some of our more “hip” friends. It’ll be my first music festival! And it’ll take me all the time leading up to it to save the $80 for the one-day pass (Saturday, of course). Will I see you there? Who are you exited to see?

Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 8:32 pm

    I love how they used the color of the coffee in that video. Very cool. Also, I’m ashamed to say that once again I’m behind on SYTYCD!

    • Amy permalink
      July 24, 2011 10:22 pm

      Yeah, I loved this video! And BOOO! This week was very good. Watch it sometime!

Leave a Reply

