Skip to content

Don’t Tell the Pope: Lent 2011

March 8, 2011

My participation in Lent has never been very religious, although the holiday itself was created as a way to sacrifice for Jesus in the days leading up to the celebration of Easter. Granted I do usually sacrifice a thing or two, but it’s more of a family affair than a religious one. My extended family members will each give something up, and we all send e-mails to each other about our struggles and triumphs. This year, my sacrifice is great. I don’t know how I will fare through the trials I know I will face, but this is what sacrifice entails. My friends, this year, I’m giving up sweets. I love chocolate. I eat it (or some form of sweet) every day. A piece of good quality dark chocolate is like a little slice of heaven in my eyes. Give me cake, cookies, ice cream, frozen yogurt, gelato, scones, pudding, or just plain chocolate and I’ll love you for it. I know I’ll have desperate moments of longing during Lent, but it’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make!

There’s just one little bit of sacrilege I’m committing: I’m starting Lent four days late. You see, tomorrow is the first day of the holiday, but tomorrow I’m flying to New York City to visit my sister. Do you know how many restaurants are in NYC? Bakeries, cafes, restaurants dedicated to dessert! Why would I go there and not partake?! It’s pretty much a pilgrimage. And that’s why I’m starting my Lent season on March 13 instead of March 9. The second I step out of the plane back here in Orlando, sweets will be banished from my palate. Don’t worry, I am tacking four days onto the end of Lent to make up for it!

I’ll share my best NYC dessert experiences with you all. Here was my “Fat Tuesday” celebratory sweet:

DELICIOUS

Don’t tell the Pope!

Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Joe permalink
    March 8, 2011 10:34 pm

    Ames,
    I admire your earnest commitment. You should know that traditionally Sundays are a day off during Lent. If you don’t take Sundays off (as our family usually doesn’t), you’ll still be on target to indulge in Easter Sunday peeps, chocolate bunny, carrot cake or whatever decadent sweet lusciousness your heart desires!
    Happy Fat Tuesday! Eat! drink! be merry! for tomorrow we die(t)!
    PEACE
    Uncle Joe

  2. Amy permalink
    March 9, 2011 10:14 am

    That’s very good to know!

Leave a Reply

