Skip to content

(Re)Design, part 4: Albums

March 1, 2011

I apologize for my lazy February. As my last post noted, I created a new portfolio, which took a lot of my Internet time, and classes are in full swing. I’ve been applying for internships, shooting for the paper, writing poems and screenplays, reading books upon books upon books. I really do love college, but it’s a pretty busy time! That’s enough of my griping…enjoy these redesigned album covers!

1.Brock Davis
This guy makes neat things. This Dark Side of the Moon cover is the only instance of album art I could find in his portfolio, but I think he’s worth featuring. I found it, of course, on Drawn. Check out his website and Flickr page for fun illustrations.

2.Tad Carpenter and Dan Padavic
I’ve found Tad featured on both Design*Sponge and Drawn. His illustrations are cute, quirky, and somewhat creepy, so I like them. Tad and Dan, of Vahalla Studios partnered up on this project for MySpace Music, where they redesigned the top 50 albums of 2010.

–>

3.33.3 Art Show
For this art show, “thirty three and a third artists and designers reinterpret and reimagine existing album covers.” The results are stunning.

Dana Lechtenberg, U2, "The Joshua Tree"

http://cargocollective.com/subpop2000

Ty Wilkins, Sufjan Stevens, "Illinoise"

http://www.tywilkins.com/

Andrew Kolb, The Beach Boys, "Pet Sounds"

http://www.kolbisneat.com/

Rachel & Adam Little, Fleet Foxes, "Fleet Foxes"

Help! I couldn’t find their website :(

4.Ty Lettau, “Sound of Design”
Minimalism! I love it and I hate it, but I’ll only share the love, because Ty truly did a great job on this project.

5.Beck’s Music Inspired Art on Flickr
This Flickr page hasn’t been updated in years, but it collected a few interesting album redesigns by various artists with various art styles, including the following.

Will Broome, "Led Zeppelin IV"

http://www.williambroome.co.uk/

RexBox, The Beatles, "Let it Be"

http://www.rexbox.co.uk/

McBess, TV on the Radio, "Return to Cookie Mountain"

http://blog.mcbess.com/

Guy McKinley, "Fleet Foxes"

http://www.guymckinley.com/

Good stuff. The only thing I don’t like about all these people is that I can’t afford prints of their work. I think this post holds the record for most tags of all my posts!
 

Update: here is the rest of the series…
Part 1: Movie Posters
Part 2: Book Covers
Part 3: TV
Part 5: Video Games

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 8:32 pm

    The Joshua Tree one ALMOST reminds me of Professor Layton

    Obviously though, that cover definitely uses a lot more parallel lines, but there is a resemblance. I better stop typing though, the comment box is about to be crushed under the heap of tags sitting a top of it.

  2. Amy permalink
    March 1, 2011 9:50 pm

    Hey, you’re right!
    I’ll see what I can do about those tags haha

Trackbacks

  1. (Re)Design, part 3: TV « AmyCanWrite: Amy Simpson's Blog about Photography, Design, and Life
  2. (Re)design, Part 2: Book Covers « AmyCanWrite: Amy Simpson's Blog about Photography, Design, and Life

Leave a Reply

