Skip to content

DIY: Owls

December 27, 2010

This year, my sister and I decided to do DIY Christmas for each other. I wouldn’t suggest doing that for everyone in the family, because I would have gone absolutely crazy, but doing it for one person was fun. I found a tutorial on making felt plush toys, so I decided to tweak that a bit for my own purposes. Here’s what I made:

Owl Decor Pillow Thingies!

I don’t want to go in-depth on how to make them, since it’s all in the tutorial I linked, but here are the basics:

1) Gather materials: a sewing machine, various colored and pattered fabrics, scissors, a crayon, needle and thread, stuffing, random decorative stuff.

2) Design: I had to decide what fabrics I would use beforehand, so I drew out each owl on small paper. The tutorial used a template, but I didn’t have one and didn’t see the need to make one, since the shape of the owls is quite simple.

3) Trace the shape onto the fabric: Do this on a double layer of the fabric, and make sure it’s inside out.

4) Machine sew the outline: Again, do this inside out. Leave a, unsewn space so you can still flip it and stuff it.

5) Trim out the shape: It’s easier to sew first and cut it out now.

6) Turn the owl right-side-in: Pull the smaller parts in first (the little ears and such), and then Pull the rest through the hole you didn’t sew.

These are pretty much in each step of the process.

7) Stuff it halfway.

8) Make the face: I didn’t trace the beak or eyes, but it’s OK if you have to. I just cut it out and trimmed it smaller if needed. When it’s all cut out, pin the face onto the body.

9) Sew it on: This was the most difficult part for me. I kept poking my fingers with the needle, but I got over it. The tutorial also used embroidery, so if you want to do that also, refer to the link. You’re also supposed to secure the thread at this point, but I’m bad at that.

10) Add other decorations: I put ruffles and charms and such on the owl bellies.

11) Stuff it: Make it as fluffy as your heart desires. Make sure to get enough fluff into the smaller parts and curves and corners.

12) Sew up the hole: Use a similar color thread and sew it up with a small stitch.

The End! Yes, this isn’t very detailed, but my intention with this is to show how easy this is, and how great the result can be. Use the tutorial and go make some toys!

Amy

Everyone's favorite

Second best

The ugly stepchild

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily Josephine permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:30 pm

    I love my owls! Very thoughtful of you. Thanks, seester!

Trackbacks

  1. On Learning & Knitting « Write Twenty Eleven

Leave a Reply

