Skip to content

DIY: Paper Initials

October 10, 2010

I finally finished this project that I have been working on for months. I Stumbled Upon a blog talking about paper quilling, and I decided that would be a great housewarming project for my room mates. I made each room-mate a fancy, curly capital letter for each of our first names. I wanted to finish all five before I moved out of the apartment, but…laziness. It took much longer than needed. Fortunately, they’re done now! Here’s an example of what I’m talking about, some beautiful paper art by Yulia Brodskaya:

Of course, I don’t think I can do that. So here’s how I made my ultra-simplified single letter versions!

1) Gather supplies. Paper (there is specific paper for quilling, but I used cardstock), paper glue, scissors and/or exacto knife, something to twist the paper strips around (there are also official quilling supplies, but I used sculpting tools), paper to glue it on (something thick), paint, and frames.

2) Sketch out your letter. I used Baskerville Old Face font. Make sure you have straight, even lines, and that the letter width does not vary.

3) Slice strips of paper about 1/3 inch thick. Try to make them a consistent width, but you do not have to be perfect.

4) Measure the strips and cut them so they will fit along the edges of the drawn letter.

5) Glue the strips along the outline. Make sure the strip are standing straight as the glue dries, and that the length is correct.

6) Twist some strips into cool shapes and set up the design you want to decorate the letter. I made it up as I went along. It helps to plan things out before you glue everything together! I also tried to keep the person I was making the letter for in mind. I wanted each letter to have a personalized feel to it. I used a tutorial for this part. It shows how to make several interesting shapes.

7) Glue your design into and around the letter. Paper glue dries quickly, so be careful. Also, make sure there is room along the edges so that you can glue the frame on. Set that aside.

8) Paint your frames, let dry.

9) Glue the frames onto the paper with your initial. Line it up so that it frames well.

DONE! Mine got a bit crushed in my car during the move, so you’ll probably be able to tell that I had to do repairs. Here are my finished products:

A for Amy

L for Laura

J for Jessica

D for Danielle

E for Erika

Amy

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily Josephine permalink
    October 11, 2010 2:32 am

    Am- I’m loving the new look of the blog! It’s looking more and more professional. Very impressive!

    • Amy permalink
      October 11, 2010 5:38 pm

      Thanks, chica! I think it’s still in progress, but it’s nice to hear good feedback.

  2. Joseph permalink
    October 11, 2010 6:03 pm

    I LOVE THESE!
    Did somebody suggest a hand-made Christmas gift exchange this year?!

    • Amy permalink
      October 12, 2010 2:49 pm

      Hahaha, I would love to see some of our family’s handmade crafts!

      • Amy permalink
        October 12, 2010 2:50 pm

        Also, we already have one “handmade” sea shell ornament drifting around the family…

Leave a Reply

