Skip to content

Temet Nosce

June 8, 2010

This has been a long writing hiatus for me! I was doing so well, too. But have no fear! From here on, the rest of the summer will be more consistent.

Although I haven’t been writing so much, my time off did allow me to return to my first love: art. By art, I mean the drawing and painting category of the arts. I don’t do much “art” these days, and most of my creative juices focus on photography and writing. But I’ve found that there are certain concepts and ideas that are much easier for me to express through drawing or painting than photography or writing. Self-portraiture is among these things.

There are, of course, photographers and writers who can capture themselves very well. Check out Nan Goldin, for instance. Her self-portrait photos are so raw. She’s not out taking pretty little Facebook photos of herself; She’s showing who she is and what is happening in her life: the good, the bad, and the ugly. This isn’t so easy for me. I don’t have a tripod, and I can never seem to get myself situated in the ten seconds that my camera’s timer gives me. I end up with a lot of crooked, stupid photos that show nothing like what I’m trying to portray! Further, when I think about my emotions, and feelings I want to represent, the images that come to mind tend toward the abstract. So, instead of taking a whole day to figure out how to set up a photograph that will portray such abstract images, I choose to draw them out instead.

I understand that not everyone can draw or take pictures, etc. But if you can, I suggest finding your own way to take your inner self, and makes that tangible. It’s therapeutic. It’s a relief. It helps me work through what I am feeling and thinking, and the finished product generally makes me feel good. When I can’t find a way to explain what’s going on in my head, when words get me nowhere, and when people don’t listen to those words, this is something I’m glad I can rely on. So, whether it’s music, photos, dance, art, writing, or anything else, find a way to show yourself. You won’t regret it.

And it’s not just me being narcissistic! Here are some famous self-portraits (they’re also some of my favorites), as well as some of mine! I only put them all together because I couldn’t figure out how to insert two different slideshows. I don’t consider myself one of the greats! It’s ok, you don’t have to make fun of my technical knowledge, or lack thereof :)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emily Josephine permalink
    June 10, 2010 11:52 am

    i love your drawing with the dress- very cool.

Leave a Reply

